State Girls Basketball Tourney at Resch Center This Weekend

The 47th Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Girls Basketball State Tournament will take place Thursday-Saturday, March 9-11, at the Resch Center in Green Bay, Wis.

Ticket price for the tourney is $11 per session when purchased at the Resch Center. Tickets for the tournament will be available for purchase online at the Ticket Star website or by calling Ticket Star at 1-800-895-0071. Tickets can also be obtained through a link on the WIAA website at: All-sessions, as well as individual session tickets, are available online for $11, plus $2 for processing fees per session.

The single elimination tournament features a five-division format with four teams qualifying in each of the five divisions.
Thursday, March 9
Division 3
#1 Waupun (21-7) vs. #4 Milwaukee Acad. of Science (22-3) - 1:35 p.m.
#2 West Salem (26-2) vs. #3 Kewaskum (22-5)*
 Division 4
#1 Aquinas (27-1) vs. #4 Mishicot (21-6) - 6:35 p.m.
#2 Laconia (25-3) vs. #3 Colfax (21-6)*
Friday, March 10
Division 5
#1 McDonell Catholic (24-5) vs. #4 Albany (28-0) - 9:05 a.m.
#2 Blair-Taylor (27-1) vs. #3 Wabeno/Laona (21-7)*
 Division 2
#1 Pewaukee (27-1) vs. #4 Lakeland (22-6) - 1:35 p.m.
#2 Notre Dame (27-1)  vs. #3 McFarland (26-2)*
 Division 1
#1 Brookfield East (26-2) vs. #4 Germantown (23-5) - 6:35 p.m.
#2 Hortonville (25-3) vs. #3 Kettle Moraine (26-1)*
Saturday, March 11
3-Point Challenge - 9:30 a.m.
Division 5 Championship Game - 11:05 a.m.
Division 4 Championship Game*
Division 3 Championship Game*
Division 2 Championship Game - 6:35 p.m.
Division 1 Championship Game*
*Note: Subsequent games of each session will begin approximately 15 minutes following the previous game.

The State Tournament will be televised live on WKOW-TV in Madison, WAOW-TV in Wausau, WXOW-TV in La Crosse, WQOW-TV in Eau Claire, WYOW-TV in Eagle River, WMOW-TV in Crandon, WMLW-TV in Milwaukee and WCWF W-14 in Green Bay and the Fox Valley. Allen Media, Inc., will produce the coverage. The championships will also be streamed on the statewide network station websites. Also, download the Magic of March app for live streaming video, scores, highlights and more about the WIAA State Basketball Tournaments. Live coverage of the tournaments on iOS or Android phones and tablets are also available on the app.

The first WIAA State Girls Basketball Tournament was held in 1976. The tournament was held at the UW Field House from 1976-97 and also in 1999, 2000 and 2002. The championships were held at the Kohl Center in 1998, 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2010-12, and at the Alliant Energy Center in 2004 and 2006-09. The Resch Center in Green Bay has been the home of the tournament since 2013, except during the COVID-19 pandemic in 2021 when the State Tournament was held at two separate locations, the La Crosse Center and the Menominee Nation Arena in Oshkosh. The tournament featured a three-class format until 1991, when a four-division format was adopted. In 2011, a fifth division was added. Cuba City has won the most State titles over the years with 11, followed by Barneveld with six, and Milwaukee Washington and Notre Dame with five. Fall Creek, Flambeau, Kimberly and Marshall have won four. There have been 102 different schools that have won championships. Cuba City has the distinction of having appeared in the most State Tournaments with 16. Newman Catholic is next on the list with 13, and Fall Creek, Janesville Parker and Middleton have qualified 12 times. Barneveld, Durand, Kimberly and Monroe have qualified for 11 State Tournaments with Arrowhead, Milwaukee Washington, Mukwonago and Oostburg and now Notre Dame having qualified 10 times.



Subscriber Login