Coleman Boys/Suring Girls Pick Up Wins at Lena Invite

Coleman’s boys and Suring’s girls picked up team wins at Tuesday’s cross country meet in Lena.
Suring’s girls were led by Olivia Noack, who was first of 31 varsity runners by over a minute, finishing in 21 minutes, 51 seconds.
Georgia Gerndt took fifth (24:00), Chantelle VandenElzen placed ninth (25:24), Hailey Thomson was 11th (25:49) and Ginger Gerndt placed 20th (29:07).
Coleman’s girls took second of four teams behind second and third-place finishers Desiree Nowak and Kiersten Jensen, who finished in 23:04 and 23:08, respectively.
Paige Nowak was 13th (26:44), Katie Nowak took 22nd (31:23) and Sara Seefeldt came in 27th (33:50).
NEW Lutheran’s girls took third. Lena/St. Thomas Aquinas Academy was fourth as a team.
For Lena/STAA, Della Kostreva took 10th (25:48), Haley VanArk was 18th (28:59), Megan Shallow took 19th (29:04), Chaela Rabas took 21st (30:03) and Samara VanArk placed 31st (38:54).
Oconto, Crivitz and Goodman/Pembine had runners in the race but not the five required for a team score.
For Oconto, Betsy Finger took eighth (25:00), Ellie Finger was 12th (26:14) and Maddy Olive came in 24th (32:09).
Crivitz got a fourth-place finish from Isabella Galindo (23:47) and a sixth place out of Grace Allard (24:02). Eva Gallard took 17th (28:17).
Goodman/Pembine’s Joley Berger took seventh in 24:19. She was the team’s only runner on the girls side of the race.
Coleman’s boys were led by second-place finisher Karson Casper (18:58) and third-place Alex Rennie (19:14). Tyler Rennie was sixth (20:13), John Nowak took eighth (20:50) and Ray LeMieux took 15th (21:39).
The Crivitz boys took second behind race winner Sam Lieuwen, who topped all 35 other runners by 28 seconds or more, finishing the race in 18:30.
Ben Brown took fifth (20:10), Joseph Pickett took seventh (20:27), Jacob Behrendt took 17th (21:47) and Brock Banaszak placed 35th (28:19).
Lena/STAA’s boys were third. Max Beyer took 10th (21:01), Reed Hosking was 11th (21:05) and Mason Belongia placed 12th (21:10). 
Drake Dionne took 16th (21:44) and Norman Aguilar was 22nd (23:09).
Goodman/Pembine saw its boys finish fourth of four teams. Kody Stahley took fourth (19:57), Caleb Meissner was 13th (21:18), Ryan Ehlert took 14th (21:36), Kevin Strietzel was 18th (21:54), Ely Marcy took 30th (26:33), Kyle Braaten came in 31st (26:37) and Joshua Knutson was 32nd (27:08).
Oneida, Wausaukee, Oconto and NEW Lutheran did not receive team scores.
For Wausaukee, Casey Nutt took 23rd (23:10) and Mikeal Shedlock-Davis was 29th (26:05).
Oconto’s Braden Shallow took 21st (23:00), Daniel Alwin was 24th (23:25) and Christian Koch placed 28th (25:35).
Tigers and Cougars
Compete at Red 
Raider Invite
Gillett and Coleman competed at the 41st annual Red Raider Invitational on Thursday, held at the Pulaski Polka Grounds.
Gillett’s boys took ninth of 15 teams, led by Alex Peterson, who was fifth of 112 runners with a time of 16 minutes, 24 seconds.
Evan Peterson was 22nd (17:25.1), Conner Hanson took 43rd (18:04), Scott Herroux was 105th (20:39.1), Zander Davis placed 110th (22:47.6) and Virgil Herzog was 112th (26:10.7).
Coleman’s boys were 10th. Karson Casper took 34th (17:45.4), Alex Rennie was 49th (18:17.9), Isaiah Nowak took 57th (18:41.5), John Nowak took 69th (19:03.2), Tyler Rennie was 77th (19:29.5), Conner Markiewicz came in 108th (21:22.5) and Ramiro Cortez was 109th (21:28.5).
“The competition was very tough but the boys really stepped up,” Coleman coach Becky Chaltry said.
Casper, Isaiah Nowak, Cortez and Markiewicz all ran season best times.
Coleman’s girls were 12th of 12 full teams. Corrin Liptak took 59th of 89 runners (22:38.4), Kiersten Jensen was 60th (22:43.2), Paige Nowak claimed 80th (25:58.3), Katie Nowak was 82nd (28:40) and Sara Seefeldt was 83rd (28:53.7).
“I’m very proud of the kids,” Chaltry said. “At this point in the season, they’re still giving 100% and doing what they can to stay healthy for conference and sectionals. I’m so excited to see what the next couple weeks bring.”
Gillett took 11th. Angela Mosconi was 22nd (20:51), Carleigh Kaczmarek was 23rd (20:52.7), Kasey Hansen took 66th (22:59.5) and Laney Debauch placed 76th (23:31.2), followed just one second behind by Alaina Herzog in 77th (23:32.2). Cheyenne Krueger was 81st (24:17.9) and Lily Hansen took 82nd (25:10.8).
Notre Dame’s boys were first. Bay Port and Green Bay Preble were second and third, respectively. Notre Dame’s girls were also first and Green Bay Preble’s girls claimed second as well. Ashwaubenon’s girls took third as a team.
Brandt Leads 
Maroon Runners at 
Munising Invite
Menominee’s Attica Brandt finished in the top five at the El Harger Munising Invitational on Tuesday, Sept. 28.
Brandt was fourth of 60 varsity runners at the race from around the Upper Peninsula with a time of 21 minutes, 41.1 seconds.
Hayden Buck was 20th (23:29.1) and Mikakah Meah took 36th (25:28.5).
With just three runners, Menominee didn’t place on the team standings. Marquette, Negaunee and Munising were the top three teams in the standings.
Menominee’s boys were sixth of nine teams. Marquette, Escanaba and Gladstone were the top three teams, in that order.
Brock Murphy took 22nd (19:52.2), Daniel Birch placed 27th (20:33.5), Dawson Allgeyer took 30th (20:45.3), Aden Short was 39th (21:24.4) and Steven Zavala took 43rd (22:18.8). 
The race took place at Pictured Rocks Golf Course in Munising.
Bulldogs Grab Four 
Top Ten Spots at 
Waupaca Invite
Peshtigo competed at the Waupaca Invitational on Thursday, with four Bulldog runners earning four top-10 individual finishes.
In the girls race, senior Sydney Lund and freshman Holly Pesch were eighth and ninth, respectively, with times of 21 minutes, 43.22 seconds and 21 minutes, 57.76 seconds.
A total of 52 runners completed the girls race.
Andrew Nelson took eighth of 58 finishers in the boys race with a time of 18:51.20. Logan Smith was 10th (18:51.2) and Reese Yunke took 52nd (23:33.22).
The Bulldogs did not have enough finishers in either race to qualify for a team score. Winneconne’s boys and girls both topped the standings.


Subscriber Login